Norse Myths And Legends

God World
Human World

The Nine Worlds of the Norsemen

The Nine Worlds were:

Asgard ("Home of the Aesir"), Vanaheim ("Home of the Vanir") and Alfheim ("Elf Home"), on the highest level.
Midgard ("Middle World"), Jotunheim, Nidavellir and Svartalfheim on the middle level.
And Niflheim (also known as Hel and Helheim) and Muspell (also known as Muspellheim) on the lowest level.


The giant ash-tree, Yggdrasil, towered above the Nine Worlds and held them firmly in place. Deer nibbled its leaves, and the bees used the sweet dew that dripped from the leaves to make honey. It had three huge roots. Each root plunged into one of the levels seen left.

| Main | God World | Human World | Hell | Guestbook | About |


Last modified: Sun, 8. Aug 2010, 17:10

Gjermund Marqvardsen